WrenchStack may earn a commission or a referral reward when you sign up with a vendor through a tracked link. The vendor pays it and we add no charge of our own. Neither is an input to our scores, tiers or rankings. How we make money.

OpenSolar vs Solargraf

Head-to-head comparison of pricing, features, integrations, and use-case fit.

Pricing verified Sep 29, 2026 Pricing verified Oct 8, 2026
Considering switching OpenSolar โ†’ Solargraf?
Estimate a 12-month switching cost: the subscription difference, the implementation fee from your quote, and assumed training time and a month of running both systems.
Calculate switch cost โ†’

OpenSolar

Free solar design, proposal and project management software funded by partners

Starting price
Free tier available
Best team size
1-500
Free trial
Free tier instead
Visit OpenSolar โ†’

Solargraf

Solar design, proposal and permitting software owned by Enphase, sold on annual plans with project and user limits

Starting price
From $233.25/mo
Best team size
1-50
Free trial
None listed
Visit Solargraf โ†’

What actually separates them

Only the points where our data on OpenSolar and Solargraf differs. A feature or integration missing from one tool's list means our entry does not record it, not that the tool lacks it. Everything they share is further down.

  • โ†’ Entry price: OpenSolar has a free tier; Solargraf starts at $233.25 a month for the company.
  • โ†’ Integrations listed for one tool only: OpenSolar: sungage, dividend finance, sunlight financial, xero; Solargraf: docusign, enphase enlighten, enerflo.
  • โ†’ Features listed for one tool only: OpenSolar: production estimates, project management, single line diagrams; Solargraf: solar proposals, esignature, financing integration.

Quick verdict

OpenSolar: Solar installers of any size, in the US, UK, Australia and many other countries, that want free design, proposal and project software and accept partner-funded placement.

Solargraf: Residential solar installers and sales teams, especially Enphase installers, who want design, proposals, financing and permit plan sets in one tool and can commit to an annual plan.

OpenSolar has the lower starting price (Free tier available).

OpenSolar lists more integrations in our data (12 vs 6).

Decision matrix: which one is right for you?

Pick OpenSolar ifโ€ฆ

  • โ†’ Your situation matches OpenSolar's target profile: Solar installers of any size, in the US, UK, Australia and many other countries, that want free design, proposal and project software and accept partner-funded placement
  • โ†’ Entry price matters most: OpenSolar has a free tier; Solargraf starts at $233.25 a month for the company
  • โ†’ QuickBooks matters: OpenSolar lists a QuickBooks integration (QuickBooks (product not specified)); our entry for Solargraf lists none
  • โ†’ Integrations matter: OpenSolar lists 12 integrations in our data, against 6 for Solargraf

Pick Solargraf ifโ€ฆ

  • โ†’ Your situation matches Solargraf's target profile: Residential solar installers and sales teams, especially Enphase installers, who want design, proposals, financing and permit plan sets in one tool and can commit to an annual plan

Pricing side-by-side

Tier OpenSolar Solargraf
Tier 1 Free: free Starter: $233.25/mo
Tier 2 - Small Business: $399.92/mo
Tier 3 - Teams: $533.25/mo
Tier 4 - Enterprise: $1083.25/mo

OpenSolar has a free tier (Free). Solargraf starts at $233.25 a month for the company on Starter; its top published tier, Enterprise, is $1083.25 a month. OpenSolar's entry price is $233.25 a month lower.

Pros & cons

OpenSolar

Pros
  • + Lower entry price: Free tier available
  • + QuickBooks integration listed (QuickBooks (product not specified))
Cons
  • โˆ’ Partners pay for placement, so in-app lenders and products are not neutral
  • โˆ’ API Access (per project), connectors (monthly) and premium imagery cost extra and prices are shown only in the app
  • โˆ’ Some features depend on your country

Solargraf

Pros
  • + Flat monthly price per plan, not per user
Cons
  • โˆ’ Annual billing only, with no monthly plan or published free trial
  • โˆ’ Each plan caps projects and users, with per-project and per-user overage fees
  • โˆ’ Public API access costs $4,000 a year below Enterprise
  • โˆ’ No QuickBooks integration in our data (OpenSolar lists one)

Feature comparison

Features as listed in our entries. The lists use different words for similar features, so check a feature you need on both vendors' sites.

Listed for OpenSolar only

  • + production estimates
  • + project management
  • + single line diagrams
  • + payments
  • + ai assistant

Listed for both

  • โœ“ solar design
  • โœ“ 3d modeling
  • โœ“ proposals

Listed for Solargraf only

  • + solar proposals
  • + esignature
  • + financing integration
  • + permit plan sets
  • + battery design
  • + crm

Integrations

Listed for OpenSolar only

  • + sungage
  • + dividend finance
  • + sunlight financial
  • + xero
  • + quickbooks
  • + nearmap
  • + metromap
  • + hardware distributors
  • + api

Listed for both

  • โœ“ goodleap
  • โœ“ lightreach
  • โœ“ enfin

Listed for Solargraf only

  • + docusign
  • + enphase enlighten
  • + enerflo

Which fits better in each trade

Trade OpenSolar fit Solargraf fit Winner
Solar 10 / 10 10 / 10 Tie

Vertical-fit scores (1-10) rate how well each tool is built for the trade, checked against the trades the vendor's own pages say it serves. See methodology.

Frequently asked questions

Which is better, OpenSolar or Solargraf?

It depends on your trade, team size and budget. OpenSolar is best for solar installers of any size, in the US, UK, Australia and many other countries, that want free design, proposal and project software and accept partner-funded placement. Solargraf is best for residential solar installers and sales teams, especially Enphase installers, who want design, proposals, financing and permit plan sets in one tool and can commit to an annual plan. See the decision matrix above, and the trade-by-trade fit table if you work in one trade.

Is OpenSolar cheaper than Solargraf?

OpenSolar has the lower entry price: a free tier, against $233.25 a month for the company for Solargraf. Total cost depends on your team size, the plan you need and any add-ons; see the pricing table above.

Can OpenSolar and Solargraf integrate with QuickBooks?

OpenSolar lists QuickBooks (product not specified). Our entry for Solargraf lists no QuickBooks integration. Check which way each sync runs, and on which plans, in each tool's full review before you buy.

Do OpenSolar or Solargraf offer a free trial?

OpenSolar: a free tier. Solargraf: no free trial in our data.

Can I move from OpenSolar to Solargraf (or the other way)?

Our data does not record migration support for either tool. Ask both vendors which records they import and export (customers, jobs, invoices, recurring agreements, price books), in which file format, and whether they help with the import.

OpenSolar vs Solargraf: which has better customer support?

Our data does not record support channels or response times for either tool. Ask each vendor which support comes with the plan you would buy. Each full review links to G2 and Capterra, where you can read current user reviews.

Which suits a solo contractor, and which a growing team?

Our data puts OpenSolar's best team size at 1-500 and Solargraf's at 1-50. OpenSolar's entry price is a free tier; Solargraf's is $233.25 a month for the company. Price both at the team size you expect to have, not only today's.

Need a deeper look?

See our full reviews with each tool's pricing tiers, integrations and weaknesses.

Should your product be in this comparison?

We check OpenSolar and Solargraf against their own websites and list the cons next to the pros. If you build a competing product that is not listed here, you can submit it for editorial review. An evaluation can end with or without a listing.

Listings are free. We do not accept payment for inclusion, for placement, for a score, or to remove a documented con. Read this page first and decide whether you want that.