Payroll software ยท Australia
Employment Hero Payroll (formerly KeyPay)
Employment Hero's payroll (formerly KeyPay): award-rate automation, STP Phase 2 and built-in super clearing
Market position
Employment Hero Payroll is the former KeyPay, which HR software company Employment Hero acquired in February 2022 and rebranded in May 2023. Employment Hero says its payroll updates pay rates automatically for modern awards and penalty rates, pulls in rostering and timesheet data, and reports through Single Touch Payroll Phase 2. It is sold as a Payroll plan or inside the Employment Unlimited HR and payroll bundle, and Employment Hero says it has more than 350,000 customers.
Australia-specific note
Employment Hero calls its payroll 'ATO-recognised' for STP Phase 2 reporting. For Payday Super (from 1 July 2026 super must be paid every pay cycle), its HeroClear clearing house validates, pays and tracks super contributions from payroll.
Pros
- + Pay rates update automatically for modern awards and penalty rates, Employment Hero says
- + STP Phase 2 reporting to the ATO
- + Built-in super clearing (HeroClear) for Payday Super
- + Rostering and time data sync into pay runs
- + Also sold in NZ, UK, Singapore, Malaysia and Canada
Cons
- โ Minimum of 10 Users, so a 3-person crew pays for 10
- โ Payroll page shows no billing period or GST basis for the $10 price
- โ Rostering & Time is a paid add-on
- โ The full HR and payroll bundle (Employment Unlimited) is quote-only
Typical Australia pricing
Payroll plan $10 per User, minimum 10 Users, billed on the higher of contracted or active Users (Employment Hero's AU payroll page; billing period and GST basis not stated). Employment Unlimited (HR plus payroll): custom quote. Add-ons: Rostering & Time $4 per employee per month (minimum $40), Managed Payroll $20 per employee per month (minimum $400).
Why this matters for Australia trades
Trade licensing is run by the states: Building Commission NSW issues NSW building and trade licences, QBCC licenses Queensland builders, plumbers and drainers (electrical work is licensed separately by the Electrical Safety Office), Victoriaโs Building and Plumbing Commission registers and licenses plumbers, Building and Energy registers WA builders and licenses electricians, plumbers and gas fitters, and CBS licenses South Australian building and PGE contractors. Automatic Mutual Recognition lets licence holders from participating states work in NSW and, depending on the occupation, in WA, usually after notifying; Queensland does not take part. Employers report pay and super to the ATO through STP-enabled payroll software each payday, and from 1 July 2026 must pay the 12% super guarantee when they pay wages.
Australian trades vendor selection is shaped by state-based licensing, Single Touch Payroll (STP) reporting to the ATO, super guarantee payments (due with each pay run under Payday Super from 1 July 2026), GST registration once turnover reaches $75,000 (per business.gov.au), and local lead services such as hipages, Localsearch and Yellow Pages.
Frequently asked
Is Employment Hero Payroll (formerly KeyPay) a good fit for Australia trades?
Employment Hero Payroll is the former KeyPay, which HR software company Employment Hero acquired in February 2022 and rebranded in May 2023. Employment Hero says its payroll updates pay rates automatically for modern awards and penalty rates, pulls in rostering and timesheet data, and reports through Single Touch Payroll Phase 2. It is sold as a Payroll plan or inside the Employment Unlimited HR and payroll bundle, and Employment Hero says it has more than 350,000 customers. Employment Hero calls its payroll 'ATO-recognised' for STP Phase 2 reporting. For Payday Super (from 1 July 2026 super must be paid every pay cycle), its HeroClear clearing house validates, pays and tracks super contributions from payroll.
What does Employment Hero Payroll (formerly KeyPay) cost in Australia?
Payroll plan $10 per User, minimum 10 Users, billed on the higher of contracted or active Users (Employment Hero's AU payroll page; billing period and GST basis not stated). Employment Unlimited (HR plus payroll): custom quote. Add-ons: Rostering & Time $4 per employee per month (minimum $40), Managed Payroll $20 per employee per month (minimum $400). Pricing and availability can change by region; confirm current Australia pricing on the vendor's site before committing.
Does Employment Hero Payroll (formerly KeyPay) publish its prices?
Yes. Employment Hero Payroll (formerly KeyPay) is Tier S in our Australia directory, which means our check found its prices published on its own website (see the typical pricing above). The tier is not a quality ranking, so compare it against the alternatives for your trade and region.